creating

Stop consuming and start creating.  The people I admire the most are ones who carve their own path.  After hearing about these types of people in books for years, I am pleased to say I now know a few of them (and know of a few more).  What amazes me is that these people are not readily accepted by most as heroes in everyday life.  The effort, vision and dedication it takes to be true to yourself is not championed by society today.

“We walk alone in the world.  Friends such as we desire are dreams and fables.  But a sublime hope cheers even the faithful heart, that elsewhere, in other regions of the universal power, souls are now acting, enduring and daring, which can love us and which we can love.”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson, First Essays: Friendship

Allen Ginsburg recalls a 1959 reading (via):

It was in the ballroom in the best hotel in Chicago and people turned out, and it was a big deal.  Nobody had ever seen a poetry reading with that many people.  So Newsweek and Time showed up, and AP and UPI or whatever, and Time interviewed us, and we were very witty, actually, I think.  I think I said, “I’m Allen Ginsberg, I’m crazy as a daisy.”  No, “crazy as a flower,” and Peter said, “I’m Peter Orlovsky and I’m crazy as a daisy,” and Gregory said, “I’m Gregory Corso and I’m not crazy at all.”  They quoted the whole roll of dialogue, and actually Dylan told me he read that column and thought: Wow, there’s more people out there, I understand immediately.

 

Image: Richard Savoy, founder of Green Apple Books.

Leave a Reply

